ICC rules: Shamsi mask celebration is banned!

Cape Town - Spinner Tabraiz Shamsi will no longer be allowed to pull on a mask when celebrating wickets, the ICC has ruled.

In what has become somewhat of a trademark celebration, Shamsi has been running off after taking a wicket before pulling on a material mask that covers half his face. 

Always one to come up with unique, over-the-top celebrations, Shamsi has been doing the mask celebration throughout the Mzansi Super League while on duty for the Paarl Rocks while he also used it in the Caribbean Premier League this year. 

It didn't last long, though, with the ICC having informed Shamsi before the Rocks' clash against the Tshwane Spartans on Wednesday that he was no longer allowed to celebrate in that way. 

"There is so much pressure on you as a bowler in a game," Shamsi was quoted as saying on Netwerk24

"I'm having fun with my celebrations and it is definitely not because I want to be disrespectful to the batsman."

Shamsi has played 11 ODIs for the Proteas and is considered part of the plans heading into next year's World Cup in England.