Leinster secure PRO14 home semi-final with Cheetahs win

Cape Town - Leinster continue their winning formula as they defeated the Cheetahs in their PRO14 encounter at RDS Arena in Dublin on Friday evening.

The Irish side won 19-7 after leading 12-7 at half-time. 

Leinster came into this game on the back of four straight PRO14 wins, while the Cheetahs had lost consecutive fixtures.

The home side made it five in a row thanks to tries from Conor O'Brien, Adam Byrne and Rory O'Loughlin.

Bryne landed two conversions to see his side to victory.

Cheetahs replied with an early try from Rabz Maxwane threatened to put pressure on the table toppers, but experience and game management secured the points for Leinster and guarantees them a home semi-final.

Flyhalf Tian Schoeman landed the only conversion for the Bloemfontein-franchise.

Late pressure threatened to secure a bonus point for the Irish team but they settled with the four to maintain their mammoth lead at the top of the conference.

Leinster extend their lead at the top of Conference B in PRO14, while the Cheetahs remain sixth in the Conference A standings.



Tries: Conor O'Brien, Adam Byrne, Rory O'Loughlin

Conversions: Byrne (2)


Try: Rabz Maxwane

Conversion: Tian Schoeman



15 Dave Kearney, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Rory O’Loughlin, 12 Conor O’Brien, 11 Fergus McFadden, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Max Deegan, 6 Rhys Ruddock (c), 5 Scott Fardy, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Bryan Byrne, 1 Peter Dooley

Substitutes: 16 James Tracy, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Mick Kearney, 20 Josh Murphy, 21 Hugh O’Sullivan, 22 Noel Reid, 23 Barry Daly


15 Louis Fouche, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Rabs Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 JP du Preez, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Marnus van der Mmerwe, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Rudy Paige, 23 Shaun Venter