Boks could surprise with wing option in Rugby Championship opener

Cape Town - Lwazi Mvovo could start at right wing for the Springboks in their Rugby Championship opener against Argentina in Durban next Saturday.

Mvovo was not part of Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus’ squad for Tests against Wales and England earlier this year, but according to Netwerk24, the Sharks flyer may start ahead of Makazole Mapimpi at Kings Park.

An injury to Sbu Nkosi has left the Bok No 14 jersey vacant and it appears as though the 32-year-old Mvovo’s experienced could count in his favour.

Mvovo boasts 17 Tests, while Mapimpi only has one Test against Wales in Washington DC earlier this year under his belt.

With the Boks set to manage Willie le Roux's game time in the Rugby Championship, Damian Willemse is likely to make his debut at fullback against Los Pumas.

The Bok coach may therefore be worried heading into the encounter with an inexperienced back trio, given the fact that left wing Aphiwe Dyantyi only has three Tests to his name.

Mvovo’s last Test was against Ireland in Johannesburg in 2016.

READ: English club to limit Faf's Rugby Championship duty?

The Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship (in alphabetical order - name and surname, franchise/club, Test caps and points):

Forwards (20)

Cyle Brink (Loose forward, Lions, uncapped)

Jean-Luc du Preez (Loose forward, Sharks, 13, 10 - 2t)

Thomas du Toit (Prop, Sharks, 4, 0)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (Lock / Loose forward, Stormers, 36, 20 - 4t)

Eben Etzebeth (Lock, Stormers, 67, 15 - 3t)

Steven Kitshoff (Prop, Stormers, 27, 5 - 1t)

Siya Kolisi (captain - Loose forward, Stormers, 31, 20 - 4t)

Francois Louw (Loose forward, Bath, England, 57, 45 - 9t)

Wilco Louw (Prop, Stormers, 7, 0)

Frans Malherbe (Prop, Stormers, 19, 0)

Malcolm Marx (Hooker, Lions, 14, 15 - 3t)

Bongi Mbonambi (Hooker, Stormers, 16, 5 - 1t)

Franco Mostert (Lock, Lions, 21, 5 - 1t)

Tendai Mtawarira (Prop, Sharks, 101, 10 - 2t)

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Loose forward, Stormers, 4, 0)

Marvin Orie (Lock, Lions, 1, 0)

RG Snyman (Lock, Bulls, 3, 0)

Akker van der Merwe (Hooker, Sharks, 3, 0)

Marco van Staden (Loose forward, Bulls, uncapped)

Warren Whiteley (No 8, Lions, 17, 15 - 3t)

Backs (15)

Lukhanyo Am (Centre, Sharks, 3, 0)

Ross Cronjé (Scrumhalf, Lions, 10, 10 - 2t)

Faf de Klerk (Scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England, 14, 5 - 1t)

Aphiwe Dyantyi (Wing, Lions, 3, 5 - 1t)

André Esterhuizen (Centre, Sharks, 2, 0)

Elton Jantjies (Flyhalf, Lions, 26, 215 - 2t, 41c, 41p)

Jesse Kriel (Centre, Bulls, 32, 45 - 9t)

Willie le Roux (Fullback, Wasps, England, 44, 55 - 11t)

Makazole Mapimpi (Wing, Sharks, 1, 5 - 1t)

Lionel Mapoe (Centre, Lions, 12, 0)

Lwazi Mvovo (Wing, Sharks, 17, 30 - 6t)

Embrose Papier (Scrumhalf, Bulls, 2, 0)

Handré Pollard (Flyhalf, Bulls, 29, 246 - 3t, 42c, 46p, 3d)

Ivan van Zyl (Scrumhalf, Bulls, 3, 0)

Damian Willemse (Flyhalf, Stormers, uncapped)