Chester: Nkosi should face Wallabies

Cape Town - Former Springbok wing Chester Williams believes Sharks flyer S’busiso Nkosi should get a chance when South Africa tackle Australia in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

CLICK: To support South Africa's Rugby World Cup 2023 bid

Nkosi was recently added to the Springbok squad for home Rugby Championship Tests against Australia (Bloemfontein, September 30) and New Zealand (Cape Town, October 7).

In recent games, the Springboks’ incumbent wings - Raymond Rhule and Courtnall Skosan - have been found wanting, especially on defence and in the air.

And Williams, a 1995 World Cup winner, believes Saturday’s match is the ideal opportunity for Nkosi to make his Test debut.

“Nkosi should get a shot against Australia. The Boks have nothing to lose by giving him international exposure now. To make one change at wing is not going to make a massive difference to the team either," Williams told the KweseESPN website.

Several pundits have also called for Rhule to be dropped but Bok coach Allister Coetzee on Monday said he wasn’t planning on axing the player.

“Don’t forget how good Raymond was against Australia. I’m not a coach who will look at one poor performance and chuck someone away. He was outstanding against the Wallabies,” Coetzee was quoted as saying on

“There were a few areas where the All Blacks targeted us, but we will work on that and get better. In the seven Tests Raymond has played, he has gained a lot of experience, so now do I just throw him out and start all over again with a new player?”

Dillyn Leyds is the other wing option in the current Bok squad.

30-man Springbok squad

Forwards (17)

Uzair Cassiem, Lood de Jager, Ruan Dreyer, Dan du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth (captain), Steven Kitshoff, Siya Kolisi, Francois Louw, Wilco Louw, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Franco Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Chiliboy Ralepelle

Backs (13)

Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Handre Pollard, Raymond Rhule, Louis Schreuder, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, S’busiso Nkosi