SA chasing magical 20 RWC 2023 vote tally

Cape Town - South Africa will need 20 World Rugby Council votes to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup and the votes of SANZAAR partners New Zealand, Australia and Argentina are integral to these votes, as is the trio's ability to influence other nations to align with South Africa.

The vote takes place on November 15.

The World Rugby’s 2023 RWC bid criteria is

1. Venues and infrastructure commensurate with a top-tier major event

2. Comprehensive and enforceable public and private sector guarantees

3. A commercially successful event with a fully funded, robust financial model

4. Operational excellence through an integrated and experienced delivery team

5. A vision that engages and inspires domestic and international audiences and contributes to the growth of rugby at all levels

6. An enabling environment of political and financial stability that respects the diversity of Rugby World Cup’s global stakeholders

7. An environment and climate suited to top-level sport in a geography that allows maximum fan mobility

Timeline of 2023 bid

* South Africa, along with the other two bidding countries France and Ireland, officially submitted their respective bids to World Rugby’s head office in Dublin on May 31

* All three candidates had to by July 31 submit the signed host agreement and the signed guarantee letters, in person to the World Rugby head office in Dublin

* The all candidates on September 25 each made a presentation to the World Rugby Council in London

* The Board of Rugby World Cup Ltd, based on the evaluation process from three independent companies, will in mid-October issue a recommendation to World Rugby Council as to who should be the 2023 hosts

* World Rugby is expected to make public the independent recommendation by October 31

* The World Rugby Council does not automatically accept the recommendation. The Council will vote to determine the host on November 15

How the vote works

It is a straight majority vote. If no country gets a majority in the first round of voting then the country with the least number of votes at that point is eliminated. In the event of a split decision, the chairman, has the casting vote. 

There are 39 votes and 20 votes will ensure a winner. None of the three bidding countries can vote.

World Council voting

Tier 1

England 3 votes

Wales 3 votes 

Scotland 3 votes

Italy 3 votes

New Zealand 3 votes

Australia 3 votes

Argentina 3 votes

Regional Associations

Oceania 2 votes

South America 2 votes

North America 2 votes

Africa 2 votes

Europe 2 votes

Asia 2 votes

Japan 2 vote

Other Unions

Canada 1 vote

USA 1 vote

Georgia 1 vote

Romanian 1 vote

Total: 39 votes