Odendaal back to lead Bulls in Hamilton

Cape Town - Bulls coach John Mitchell has named his team for Friday’s Super Rugby clash against the Chiefs at Waikato Stadium in Hamilton (kick-off 08:35 SA time).

Mitchell has made a few changes to the team that lost 20-14 to the Reds in Brisbane last weekend.

Regular skipper Burger Odendaal has recovered from injury and is back in midfield in place of Johnny Kotze.

Odendaal takes over the captaincy duties from flyhalf Handre Pollard.

In the only other change to the backline, Divan Rossouw starts at left wing in place of Duncan Matthews.

In the loose trio, Hanro Liebenberg moves from flank to No 8 in place of Nic de Jager, who has returned to South Africa after suffering a fractured rib against the Reds.

Thembelani Bholi takes over the No 7 jersey.

In the front row, Springbok Trevor Nyakane also gets his first start of the season, replacing Frans van Wyk at tighthead prop.

Nyakane was not picked at the start of the season after Mitchell said his fitness wasn’t up to scratch.





15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 Divan Rossouw, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 RG Snyman, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Pierre Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Jason Jenkins/Tim Agaba, 20 Marco van Staden, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Johnny Kotze