The REAL Super Rugby Team of the Tournament!

Cape Town - In keeping with the unfathomable format of Super Rugby as the once watchable tournament grimly clings to life, SANZAAR on Tuesday released a bizarre official Team of the 2018 Tournament.

READ: Super Rugby is dead - RIP

Readers were left baffled by the composition of the XV with only ONE player from the all-conquering Crusaders side - and no side bar the Chiefs (with 4) having more than a single representative.

SANZAAR even found space for 4 South Africans - one from each of the Lions, Sharks, Stormers and Bulls.

SANZAAR claimed their selections were based on stats - but as we all know, stats, although they don't lie, can often be meaningless and used to paint a rather abstract picture.

The Crusaders claimed a record ninth Super Rugby title when they beat the Lions 37-18 in the final in Christchurch to defend their title in a season they were once again the stand-out team.

READ: Jake White: Super Rugby format remains flawed

Alas, their performance, according to SANZAAR at least, was only good enough to see wing George Bridge selected.

So, without further ado, the REAL, well Sport24's at least, 2018 Super Rugby Team of the Tournament:

15. Israel Folau (Waratahs)

14. Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs)

13. Jack Goodhue (Crusaders)

12. Ryan Crotty (Crusaders)

11. George Bridge (Crusaders)

10. Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)

9. Will Genia (Rebels)

8. Amanaki Mafi (Rebels)

7. Matt Todd (Crusaders)

6. Pablo Matera (Jaguares)

5. Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)

4. Franco Mostert (Lions)

3. Owen Franks (Crusaders)

2. Malcolm Marx (Lions)

1. Karl Tu'inukuafe (Chiefs)

SANZAAR’s Super Rugby Team of the Season:

15 Israel Folau (Waratahs), 14 Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs), 13 Anton Lienert-Brown (Chiefs), 12 Michael Little (Sunwolves), 11 George Bridge (Crusaders), 10 Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), 9 TJ Perenara (Hurricanes), 8 Akira Ioane (Blues), 7 Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), 6 Pablo Matera (Jaguares), 5 Lood de Jager (Bulls), 4 Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), 3 Taniela Tupou (Reds), 2 Malcolm Marx (Lions), 1 Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)