Australia re-jig for Kiwis

2010-07-27 07:52

Melbourne - Berrick Barnes has been recalled to replace the suspended Quade Cooper in one of two changes to Australia's starting line-up for Saturday's Tri-Nations Test against New Zealand.

Flyhalf Cooper was suspended for two weeks for a dangerous tackle in the second half of Australia's 30-13 win over defending champions South Africa last weekend. He has appealed the ban.

Barnes was included in the starting line-up on Tuesday at inside centre, with Matt Giteau shifting one spot in to flyhalf. Stephen Moore replaces Saia Faingaa at hooker in the only other personnel change to the run-on team. Faingaa returned to the bench.

New Zealand had two bonus-point wins over South Africa at home to start the Tri-Nations and leads the competition with 10 points, six clear of Australia. The Melbourne match will be New Zealand's first on the road this season.

Giteau and Barnes will be combining at 10 and 12 for the first time this year, but have played in tandem in those positions in 15 of Australia's last 33 Tests dating to the 2008 match against Ireland at Melbourne, which was coach Robbie Deans's first in charge of the Wallabies.

Barnes is only making his second appearance in the starting line-up this season, after starting at inside centre in the 27-17 win over England at Perth last month.

Moore was preferred to Faingaa after coming off the bench in the second half of the win over South Africa to make his 47th Test appearance, and his first since recovering from a broken jaw.

In a slight boost for Faingaa, his twin brother Anthony was included on the reserves bench as an inside back after Barnes was elevated to the starting XV.

Matt Hodgson was also included on the bench at the expense of Ben McCalman. Hodgson was a late withdrawal from the Springboks match due to a groin strain.

Nathan Sharpe will equal the record of World Cup-winning captain John Eales for most caps earned by a Wallabies lock when he makes his 84th Test appearance.



15. Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14. James O'Connor, 13. Rob Horne, 12. Berrick Barnes, 11. Drew Mitchell, 10. Matt Giteau, 9. Will Genia, 8. Richard Brown, 7. David Pocock, 6. Rocky Elsom (captain), 5. Nathan Sharpe, 4. Dean Mumm, 3. Salesi Ma'afu, 2. Stephen Moore, 1. Benn Robinson

Substitutes: 16. Saia Faingaa, 17. James Slipper, 18. Rob Simmons, 19. Matt Hodgson, 20. Luke Burgess, 21. Anthony Faingaa, 22. Kurtley Beale

New Zealand:

15. Mils Muliaina, 14. Cory Jane, 13. Conrad Smith, 12. Ma'a Nonu, 11. Joe Rokocoko, 10. Daniel Carter, 9. Jimmy Cowan, 8. Kieran Read, 7. Richie McCaw (captain), 6. Jerome Kaino, 5. Tom Donnelly, 4. Brad Thorn, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Keven Mealamu, 1. Tony Woodcock

Substitutes: 16. Corey Flynn, 17. Ben Franks, 18. Sam Whitelock, 19. Victor Vito, 20. Piri Weepu, 21. Aaron Cruden, 22. Israel Dagg