Dominant Maties claim 2019 Varsity Cup

Cape Town - Maties won the 2019 Varsity Cup, easily downing Tuks 34-12 in the final played at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch on Monday night.

The hosts led 12-0 at half-time thanks to tries from flank Johann Van Niekerk in the fourth minute and a converted effort by winger Munier Hartzenberg in the 31st minute after a chip ahead by centre Chris Smit.

Van Niekerk added his second just after the start of the second half, with flyhalf Jordan Chait adding the extras to extend the Maties' lead to 21-0.

Tuks were finally on the scoreboard in the 54th minute thanks to winger Dewald Naude who scored in the corner to cut the Maties lead to 21-5.

Naude added another in the 60th minute as Tuks threatened a comeback but a red card in the 65th minute for Tuks fullback Vaughen Isaacs for a high tackle proved decisive.

Soon afterwards, Maties put the game beyond doubt thanks to a Chait penalty and a second try for Hartzenberg who chased down a chip ahead to score.

It was Maties' first victory over Tuks in a Varsity Cup final and left the team from Stellenbosch undefeated for the season. 



Tries: Johann van Niekerk (2, including a 7-point try), Munier Hartzenberg (2)

Conversions: Jordan Chait (3)

Penalties: Chait (2)


Tries: Dewald Naude (2)

Conversion: Tinus de Beer



15 Reinhardt Fortuin, 14 Munier Hartzenberg, 13 David Brits, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Jordan Chait, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Stephan Streicher, 7 Chris Massyn, 6 Johann van Niekerk, 5 Ben-Jason Dixon, 4 Zirk Jansen, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Wayrin Losper

Substitutes: 16 HJ Luus, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Piet Strauss, 19 Mitchell Carstens, 20 Jesse Johnson, 21 Brendon Nell, 22 Anton du Toit, 23 Carlisle Nel.


15 Vaughen Isaacs, 14 Dewald Naude, 13 Lourens Pretorius, 12 Erich Cronje, 11 Irvin Ali, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Theo Maree, 8 Denzel Hill, 7 Hanru Sirgel, 6 Stephan Smit, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Marius Verwey, 3 Jean-Pierre Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Etienne Janeke

Substitutes: 16 Werner Fourie, 17 Jacobus Eloff, 18 Bart le Roux, 19 Brian Leitch, 20 Raegan Oranje, 21 Damian Bonaparte, 22 Xolisa Guma, 23 Ewart Potgieter