Hogg fit to start for Scotland against Fiji

Edinburgh - Stuart Hogg has completed a remarkable recovery from ankle surgery to be named in the Scotland starting line-up to face Fiji on Saturday.

The Glasgow back has not played since damaging ligaments in the Warriors' clash with Munster in September.

It was feared he would sit out the entire autumn series after he was initially ruled out for 10 to 12 weeks.

However, head coach Gregor Townsend has decided to throw him straight back into action after naming a much-changed side to take on the Pacific Islanders at Murrayfield following last weekend's defeat to Wales.

Hogg's return is one of nine changes to the team which suffered a 21-10 defeat in Cardiff, with scrumhalf Greig Laidlaw back to skipper the side and Racing 92 star stand-off Finn Russell also recalled.

"It's a more experienced side this week in terms of time together at this level, while we've rewarded some of those who performed well off the bench with the chance to start," said Townsend.

Exeter's former England Under-20s lock Sam Skinner is also handed his Scotland debut, qualifying for the country through his Scottish father.

Saracens wing Sean Maitland will make his first appearance for Townsend's team since the Six Nations while number eight Matt Fagerson, centre Peter Horne, hooker Fraser Brown and lock Grant Gilchrist are all promoted to the starting line-up after substitute roles at the Principality Stadium last time out.

"Fiji pose huge threats off turnover ball, utilising some of the best individual players, one-on-one, in the world," added Townsend.

"We have to be physical and accurate, play to our strengths and put them under pressure in areas they don't want to go into, to make sure the game is open for us but not for them."



15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Pete Horne, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Greig Laidlaw (captain), 8 Matt Fagerson, 7 Jamie Ritchie, 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Grant Gilchrist, 4 Sam Skinner, 3 Willem Nel, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Allan Dell

Substitutes: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 Josh Strauss, 21 George Horne, 22 Adam Hastings, Chris Harris