Baxter names Bafana Bafana 4-Nations squad

Cape Town - Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 25-man squad to participate in the 4-Nations Tournament to be held in Zambia from March 22-25.

The other three teams featuring in the double-header event are hosts Zambia, Angola and Zimbabwe.

Baxter has made 14 changes to the squad that last featured against Senegal in November 2017 in a 2018 Soccer World Cup qualifier.

Zambia are the highest ranked country among all four nations - sitting in 15th position in Africa and 76th in the world. Hot on their heels are South Africa, who are 16th and 77th, respectively.

Zimbabwe and Angola are ranked 25th (105) and 41st (141).

The first match will see the home side playing against Zimbabwe on Thursday, March 22 at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola.

Kick-off is at 13:00.

South Africa will then take to the field to face Angola at 15:00 at the same venue.

The losers in the two matches will fight for bronze on Sunday, March 25 at the same venue at 13:00.

The final will be contested by the winners of the match day 1 – who will face off immediately after a 3rd/4th place playoff.

Kick-off is at 15:00.

Bafana Bafana will assemble for a camp on Sunday, March 18 and will depart for Zambia two days later (March 20).

Baxter’s men are expected back in the country on Tuesday, March 27.

Bafana Bafana squad to play in 4-Nations tournament in Zambia:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Brandon Petersen (Ajax Cape Town)

Defenders: Reeve Frosler (Bidvest Wits), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena, Aubrey Modiba (Supersport United), Themba Zwane, Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford FC), Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier), Phakamani Mahlambi (Al Ahly)

Strikers: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebo Mothiba (Lille), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs)