Ten-year ICC snub for SA

2013-07-02 09:12 Cape Town - The International Cricket Council has ignored South Africa as host of a major cricket event for at least the next 10 years.

According to the

IOL Sport website, India received the lion’s share of the tournaments, while the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) was also generously treated.

South Africa, on the other hand, will only host two minor tournaments - the Under-19 World Cup in 2020 and the Women’s Twenty20 in 2022.

India, who hosted the last 50-overs-a-side World Cup in 2011, are scheduled to host it again in 2023, while they will also be hosting the World Twenty20 in 2016 and the World Test Championship in 2021.

England will get the inaugural World Test Championship in 2017 and the World Cup in 2019, while the World Twenty20 in 2020 will be played in Australia.


leadership rumblings on the Cricket South Africa (CSA) board appear to have contributed to the country not receiving any major competitions.

ICC programme:

World Twenty20 2016 - India

ICC World Test Championship 2017 - England

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 - England

ICC World Twenty20 2020 - Australia

ICC World Test Championship 2021 - India

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 - India

The ICC qualifying events for 2015-2023:

ICC World Twenty20 qualifier 2015 - Ireland/ Scotland

ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier 2018 - Bangladesh

ICC World Twenty20 qualifier 2019 - Tender

ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier 2022 - Zimbabwe

Other ICC events for 2016-2023:

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 - Bangladesh

ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 - England

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2018 - New Zealand

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2018 - West Indies

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2020 -

South Africa

ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 - New Zealand

ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2022 - West Indies

ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2022 -

South Africa